Book Selfie Challenge Days 3-5!

Day 3: Your favorite chapter book as a kid
Day 3: Your favorite chapter book as a kid

Day 3: Your favorite chapter book as a kid

I loved this book and still do. The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine is the story of two sisters, best friends but complete opposites.  When strong, courageous Meryl gets sick, Addie must go on a journey of mythical proportions to save her sister and herself.

Honorable mentions include:The Junie B. Jones series by Barbra Park, A Series of Unfortunate Events series by Lemony Snicket, the Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer and Eragon by Christopher Paolini

Day 4: The best book you had to read for school, work, etc.
Day 4: The best book you had to read for school, work, etc.

Day 4: The best book you had to read for school, work, etc.

I could have chosen a lot of books, plays, short stories etc. for this day, but the first one that came to mind was the unit we did on Samuel Johnson in my 18c lit course. We studied “A Modest Proposal” and a few others and I completely fell in love with Johnson as a writer and a human being.

Honorable mentions include: It’s Fine by Me by Per Petterson, Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger and Antigone by Sophocles

Day 5: The book/poem/short story that had the best plot twist
Day 5: The book/poem/short story that had the best plot twist

Day 5: The book/poem/short story that had the best plot twist

I read As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner for a research paper in high school. I can honestly say that I stayed up all night reading it cover to cover until about 3 a.m.

The last few pages left me in such emotional and mental shock that I sat on my bedroom floor, jaw dropped, for about 5 minutes. I kept repeating “Oh my god, oh my god, oh my god,” in an attempt to conceptualize the meaning of what I just said.

Honorable mentions include: Passing by Nella Larson, A Separate Peace by John Knowles and A Rose for Emily by William Faulkner

Leave a Reply

