A Year in Review: Write Well Daily’s 2013 Book Survey

Photo credit: The Perpetual Page-Turner
Photo credit: The Perpetual Page-Turner

Hello lovelies!

In the spirit of the New Year I’ve completed this 2013 Book survey created in 2010 by Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner—thanks girl!

Please feel free to browse my answers and consider them my year’s end recommendations to all of you!

 1. Best Book You Read In 2013? (If you have to cheat — you can break it down by genre if you want or 2013 release vs. backlist)

It’s Fine By Me by Per Petterson: An English translation of Norwegian fiction following the life of Arvid Jensen, a young boy in Oslo who befriends societal rebel Audun. An entrancing and magnetic read, this short saga will captivate and touch the reader in ways they won’t anticipate.

 2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Dafoe: When my brother and I were kids we listened to this book on audio cassette (yepp, really dating myself here) and I absolutely loved it. However, after studying it in two different classes (English Novel and 18c English) it really fell short of my first impression.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013?

The Magicians by Lev Grossman OR The Female American by Unca Eliza: I picked up The Magicians on a whim during one of my many Barnes and Noble trips. The cover art and rear descriptive paragraph made me think the book would be just another story about angsty teens discovering they had magic powers. But, the raw sexuality and carnal undertones, the unapologetic delving into magic’s dark side and themes of possession, death and the struggle for power made this read entirely enigmatic.

The Female American, or a re-telling of Robinson Crusoe from a female perspective, was surprisingly entertaining and easy to read. This text filled in all the gaps that I had been missing from the original Robinson Crusoe with an edgy and fun feel. I didn’t expect to so thoroughly enjoy a class text, but this really captured and held my attention throughout its entirety.

 4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most?

I recommended The Thirteenth Tale by Dianne Setterfield quite a bit, but I read that back in 2010. Specific to books read in 2013, I think I recommended The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and the rest of the Millennium Trilogy, by Steig Larsson.

5. Best series you discovered in 2013?

Definitely the aforementioned Millennium Trilogy by Steig Larsson.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?

Samuel Johnson. As in, “A Modest Proposal”, Samuel Johnson. Oh yeah, bet you never expected me to love an 18c-er! I’ve also become very enamored with Per Petterson and Henrik Ibsen courtesy of my Norwegian Literature in Translation class, so definitely check them out.

 7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

Hmm, I started reading some YA fiction, which I haven’t been into since I was a in early high school, but The Fault in Our Stars by John Green is proving to be pretty fulfilling so far!

 8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson, AND I had already seen the movie and loved it—so that tells ya something.

9. Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Either Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury or To Siberia by Per Petterson.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013?

To Siberia by Per Petterson. I’ll put up a photo on the right!

 11. Most memorable character in 2013?

Hmm, that would be a toss-up between Lisbeth Salander from GwtDT or Clarisse McClellan from Fahrenheit 451.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2013?

 Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut. Hands down.

 13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013?

Breakfast of Champions, for sure. When I finished it I nearly cried. So hauntingly raw and realistic, it just tore me apart.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read?

Either 50 Shades of Grey, which was only being read for research/blog posts, or reading the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and beginning the Millennium Trilogy. Though I was still just as horrified with 50 shades after reading it as I was before reading it, I was thoroughly more impressed with the first book of the Millennium Trilogy.

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2013?

OH GOD, THERE WERE SO MANY.

From Ray Bradbury's Fahrenheit 451
From Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451

 16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

Shortest: Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole

Longest: Pamela by Samuel Richardson

 17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

Hmmm, a lot of scenes in Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut, but definitely some moments in Burn by Maya Banks too.

 18. Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2013 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

Definitely the romantic, dom-sub relationship in Burn by Maya Banks. Corny, I know. But the tension and care built between them made me want to read the other two books in the series.

 19. Favorite Book You Read in 2013 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

American Gods by Neil Gaiman (Previously read Fragile Things and working on Smoke and Mirrors).

 20. Best Book You Read In 2013 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:

Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson.

 21. Genre You Read The Most From in 2013?

Literary fiction—no challenge there

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2013?

Lisbeth Salander from the Millennium Trilogy—no doubt.

 23. Best 2013 debut you read?

I don’t think I read anything that came out specific to this year, unfortunately.

 24. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?

To Siberia and It’s Fine By Me by Per Petterson.

 25. Book That Was The Most Fun To Read in 2013?

Probably any of the Adult Romance books, but 50 Shades was pretty fun, due mainly to the amount of mocking and commentary that took place during the reading process. Also, 50 Shades of Beige, a parody of the aforementioned novel, was hysterical.

 26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2013?

Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut. No challenge there.

27. Book You Read in 2013 That You Think Got Overlooked This Year Or When It Came Out?

Probably both the Per Petterson books.

Again, thank you to Jamie, creator of The Perpetual Page-Turner for this lovely survey!

Write on!

Leave a Reply

